top of page

The Final Days

Day 83,84: Virginia Beach, VA Rest Days Saturday/Sunday, June 27/28 I spent the next few days enjoying what the beach has to offer. Saturday morning I rode my bike to the beach getting my first glimpse of salt water and the Atlantic. It took my breath away. I just sat there and breathed in the salty air. To celebreate, I got a milk shake from Dairy Queen, it seemed appropriate. Then I carried my bike into the sand, set it down, and sprinted into the water. A fellow beachgoer offered me a few Miller Lites, also in celebration of my accomplishment. Later that day, Spencer, a naval mechanic, took me to the base and showed me the jets he works on. I even got to go fly in an F22! OK, so maybe I made that part up, but how cool would that have been?

On Sunday the Steinman's let me borrow their Camry so I could drive back into North Carolina and visity Kitty Hawk, the place where the Wright Brothers flew the first heavier than air flight. Kitty Hawk is located on one of a series of connected islands reffered to as the Outer Shores which is a water reacreationists' paradise. On my drive there I was assaulted by bilboard after bilboard educating me on all the various activities I could participate in while on island. That day, from 10 AM until 10 PM I entertained myself by visiting the Flight Museum and Kill Devil Hillls (the location of the Wrights' first flight), watching kite surfers, regular surfers, and hang gliders. To top off my evening I even watched a killer sunset. What an amazing end to an amazing trip. I decided right then and there I would have to bike the east coast some day. I would start in New Orleans, head into Florida, and travel all the way up to Maine. Who knows, maybe you'll join me?

i


bottom of page